Editing permissions for a custom role

You can change the permissions associated with a custom role.

There are a few ways in which you can change a role's permissions:

  • Add permissions that were not assigned when the role was created
  • Assign permissions when new features are added to the Absolute console
  • Revoke permissions
  • etc.

To edit permissions for a custom role:

  1. Log in to the Absolute console as a System Administrator.
  2. Access the User Management area.
  1. Click Roles and click the role you want to change permissions for.
  2. Click Permissions to open the role's Permissions page. The symbols indicate the following:

    Permission is assigned to the role.

    Permission is not assigned to the role.

    -

    Permission is not assigned to any role (i.e. not applicable).

  3. Click Edit to open the Edit Permissions dialog.
  4. Update the role's feature permissions by doing the following:
    • To assign view-only permissions for a feature, select the feature's View check box.
    • To assign view and edit permissions for a feature, select the feature's Manage check box. The View check box is selected automatically.
    • To assign report export permissions for a feature, select the feature's View and Export check boxes.
    • To assign Activate, Publish, Run, or Perform permissions for a feature, select the feature's applicable Other Actions check box. If a View check box is associated with the feature, select it as well.
    • To revoke a permission, clear its check box.
  5. Click Save.
  6. On the Role updated dialog, click OK.