Deleting policy groups

If one or more policy groups are no longer applicable or required, you can delete them. All devices that were associated with the deleted policy group are moved to the Global Policy Group and the Global Policy Group's policies are applied to each device.

NOTE  If automatic agent updates are disabled, and the agent version assigned to the Global Policy Group is lower than that of the deleted policy group, the Absolute agent will be downgraded on each moved device.

To delete a policy group:

  1. Log in to the Absolute console as a user with Manage permissions for Policies and Licenses.

  2. On the navigation bar, click and click Policy Groups.
  3. On the Policy Groups sidebar, search for and then click the policy group that you want to delete. The policy group opens in the work area.
  4. NOTE  You can't delete the Global Policy Group or the Unlicensed Policy Group.

  5. Click Policy Group Options > Delete.
  6. On the Delete Policy Group confirmation message, click Delete.
  7. Click Close to close the confirmation message.

  8. NOTE  If the policy group contains a large number of devices, it may take a few minutes for all devices to be moved to the Global Policy Group. You can periodically refresh the Global Policy Group's Devices page to see how many devices still need to be processed. We recommend that you avoid performing any actions on the Global Policy Group until all devices from the deleted policy group are moved.